Szczegóły atrakcji turystycznej
Kategoria: Cultural Heritage

The Old District Centre for Disabled People in Zabrze Rokitnica

The buildings of the Centre for Disabled People in Zabrze Rokitnica were built in the years 1902-1904. They were designed by brothers Emil and Georg Zillmann, Berlin architects. The brothers became known in Upper Silesia for several projects, including Giszowiec, a workers' housing estate. Today, the buildings are owned by the Medical University of Silesia. The Faculty of Medicine with the Department of Dentistry are housed here.

plac Traugutta 2
41-800 Zabrze
Aglomeracja Górnośląska
w mieście
Informacje ogólne
: zabytki architektury
: whole year

Nie jesteś zalogowany. Aby skorzystać z planera podróży musisz się zalogować.

Przejdź do strony logowania.

City audio tours
Zapraszamy na audiowycieczkę po centrum Zabrza!
Sound files

In the nineteenth century, Rokitnica was already a large, industrial settlement, which was part of Count von Ballestrem’s property. Count was the owner, among others, of the mines "Castellengo" ("Rokitnica") and "Abwehr" ("Mikulczyce '). In the early decades of the twentieth century, Count took a special care of the miners working for him and built a housing estate „Stara Rokitnica”. It resembles a well-kept village with houses for four and eight families, next to which a school, a pharmacy and other public facilities were built.
The John West Ranch in Zabrze is one of the few equestrian centres specializing in horse riding in the Western style. The stable is located in Rokitnica, a northern district of the city. Its traditions go back to the second half of the 1980s. The centre offers recreational riding for children and adults, stayin in a boarding house or a possibility of buying a horse. The so-called “ Cowboy Days on the Ranch” organized by the stable are a very interesting event.
Mikulczyce was mentioned at the beginning of the fourteenth century as Mikulczicz and, later as Niculticz. For a long time, it was an independent village until the 50s of the twentieth century, when it became a district of Zabrze. Industrial development took place with the acquistion of the village by the von Donnersmarck in the first half of the nineteenth century. A Lutheran church was built in less than two months in 1937, using environmentally friendly solutions from Scandinavia.
The Refuge of Peace is a life-work of Mother Eve from Miechowice, a person famous all over Silesia. Waleska von Tiele-Winckler, named Mother Eve, was an aristocrat, who devoted her life to helping the poor and needy. In 1890, the first residential care center, called the Refuge of Peace, was opened in Miechowice near Bytom (now a district of the city). In the following years, new buildings were added, creating a center of charity care homes, a nursing school, and even its own church.
Mikulczyce was incorporated into Zabrze only in 1951. Earlier, for a few hundred years, Mikulczyce was an independent village, whose inhabitants lived mainly from farming. For a long time industrialization skirted the area - the first coal mine was built here at the beginning of the twentieth century. The communal Hall was erected in 1902, and at the end of the 1930s it was rebuilt. The building features an Eclectic style, but with some spectacular Art Nouveau elements.
zobacz więcej
Silesian Flavours Culinary Trail
The Italian word Collin means hill, and the restaurant is located under the hill in Zbrosławice. It is here that a uniqu... więcej>>
Coal mine Shaft Maciej is a complex of buildings of the former coal mine "Concordia", which is situated in the district... więcej>>
Tarnowskie Góry
Restauracja Hotel Opera to dobra kuchnia i profesjonalna obsługa. Restauracja gwarantuje produkty najwyższej jakości, pr... więcej>>